Neighborhood Commission


  • Last Wednesday of every odd month


  • Thomas M. Bernabei, Mayor
  • Jason Reese, Law Director
  • John Highman, Public Service Director
  • Andrea Perry, Public Safety Director
  • Chris Smith, Councilmember
  • John Mariol, Councilmember
  • Daniel Preacher, Community Building Partnership of Stark County
  • Danselle Williams, Neighborhood Representative
     Term Expires 5/31/2023
  • Mary Lou Straight-Hoynes, Neighborhood Representative
     Term Expires5/31/2023
  • Eva Leigh Houghton, Neighborhood Representative
     Term Expires 5/31/2023
  • Patricia Howard, Neighborhood Representative
     Term Expires 5/31/2023
  • Robert George, Neighborhood Representative
     Term Expires 5/31/2024
  • Brice Bender, Neighborhood Representative
     Term Expires 5/31/2024
  • Ted Johnson, Neighborhood Representative
    Term Expires 5/31/2023

Appointment Process

Members are appointed by the Mayor at the recommendation of the Neighborhood Leadership Council. Council confirmation is not required.


The Commission consists of:

  • Mayor
  • Law Director or designee
  • Director of Public Service
  • Director of Public Safety
  • Director of Development
  • Two members of Council, appointed by the Council Majority Leader
  • Director of Community Engagement, Stark Community Foundation
  • Six members of the public, appointed by the Neighborhood Leadership Council


The Commission was originally established by Executive Order 2011-001, and enacted on February 14, 2011. Executive Order 2016-001, enacted on April 27, 2016 reaffirmed and amended the purpose and membership of the Commission. The Commission's purpose is to establish a forum for communication and collaboration between neighborhood associations and city government.


Initial appointments listed are staggered one-, two-, and three-year terms. All subsequent appointments shall be for three-year terms.


Members serve without compensation.


Executive Order: 2016-001 (PDF)