Select language: zh-CNesdefrja

Fair Housing Commission


The Fair Housing Commission receives and investigates charges of housing discrimination.  If the Commission determines a respondent has engaged in, or is engaging in any unlawful discriminatory housing practice, the Commission shall issue an order requiring the respondent to cease and desist from such unlawful practice. The Commission may order relief including compensation in money for economic losses or damage shown to have been incurred and a monetary civil penalty.  Not less than once per year, the Commission submits to the Mayor and Council reports and recommendations describing the investigations, proceedings, and hearings it has conducted.  The Commission conducts educational and other public relations programs to promote the equal rights and opportunities of all persons in matters related to housing accommodations, regardless of their race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, national origin, or ancestry and to eliminate the prejudice and ignorance which result in housing discrimination.

Meeting Times

Meetings are held the third Thursday of each month at 3:00 PM in the Jury Room located on the 1st floor of City Hall. 

Appointment Process

Members are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by Council.  The Commission appoints an executive director to be the principal administrative officer.

Current Members

Members Seat Designation Term Expires
Ivan Redinger Mayor Appointee 1/31/2022
Monique Moore Mayor Appointee 6/30/2022
Ernie Schott Mayor Appointee 12/31/2020
Angelina Moody Mayor Appointee 12/31/2023
William Jones Mayor Appointee 5/31/2019
Henry Renfro Mayor Appointee 12/31/2020
VACANT Mayor Appointee  
Angenita Daniels Mayor Appointee 5/31/2021
Brenda Turner
Mayor Appointee 6/30/2021
Thomas M. Bernabei Mayor No Expiration
Fonda Williams Compliance Director No Expiration











Membership Requirements

Members must be residents of the city or be employed or have their principal place of business within the city.The Mayor serves as an ex-officio member.

Of the nine (9) members:

  • Not more than five (5)  may be of the same political party.
  • Not more than three (3) may be from each of the following categories:
  • Real estate sales industry
  • Construction industry
  • Lending institutions
  • Building and trade unions
  • Insurance agencies or companies

Term Length

Five (5) years


Members serve without compensation.


City Ordinance 515.05-.09

If you would like to apply to serve on this commission or recommend someone to serve, please send or fax a resume and cover letter to:

Office of Mayor Thomas M. Bernabei
ATTN: Boards and Commissions
218 Cleveland Ave. SW
Canton, OH  44702

FAX: 330-489-3282

Updated 6/9/2016

Home > Mayor > Boards and Commissions > Fair Housing Commission