Select language: zh-CNesdefrja

Planning Commission


The City Planning Commission:

(a) Reviews any general neighborhood renewal, urban renewal, or urban redevelopment plan filed with City Council.

(b) Submits to Council its recommendations on such plans, including its approval or disapproval and certification as to whether or not the plan is in conformity with the General Plan of the City.

Meeting Times

The Commission meets the second Tuesday of each month at 4:00 pm in the Council Caucus Room.

Appointment Process

Members are appointed by the Mayor.  Council confirmation is not required.

Current Members

Planning Commission Members Seat Designation Term Expires
Brenda Turner Mayor Appointee 12/31/2023
Jess Bennett Mayor Appointee 6/30/2024
Audrey Lavin Mayor Appointee 12/31/2024
Amanda Stewart Mayor Appointee 12/31/2024
Alexander Haas Mayor Appointee 6/30/2021
David Kaminski Mayor Appointee 12/31/2021
Danny Thompson Mayor Appointee 12/31/2021
James Bowe Mayor Appointee 12/31/2021
Thomas M. Bernabei Mayor No Expiration
John Highman Director of Public Service No Expiration
JR Rinaldi Park Commission No Expiration

Membership Requirements

The Commission consists of:

  • Mayor
  • Director of Public Service
  • President of the Board of Park Commissioners
  • Eight public members

Public members must be residents of the City.

Term Lengths

Six (6) years


Members serve without compensation.


City Ordinance 1101.01, 1165.04-.05, 191.07
Ohio Revised Code 713.01-713.15

If you would like to apply to serve on this commission or to recommend someone to serve, please send or fax a cover letter and resume to:

Office of Mayor Thomas M. Bernabei
ATTN: Boards and Commissions
218 Cleveland Ave. SW
Canton, OH  44702

FAX: 330-489-3282

Last updated 4/8/2016

Home > Mayor > Boards and Commissions > Planning Commission