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FREQUENTLY ASKED EVICTION QUESTIONS

1. My tenant has not paid the rent. Do | have to
file an eviction with the Court?

Yes. In Ohio, a landlord of residential premises
cannot physically remove the tenant from the
premises, terminate utilities, or change the locks to
encourage a tenant to move from the premises.
This is called “self-help,” and is illegal in Ohio. A
landlord must file a complaint against the tenant,
go to court, be granted a judgment, and follow the
court-instituted eviction procedure to remove the
tenant from the premises.

2. lunderstand it may take 60 to 90 days to
evict atenant. Is that true?

For a simple non-payment case, a tenant may be
evicted within less than five weeks: The landlord
must serve the three-day notice, then wait three
business days. The landlord then files the
complaint with the Clerk of Courts. The court date
is set for ~3 weeks from the date of filing. Then, if
the eviction is granted, the move-out may take
place within seven days from the date of hearing.
The process in that case would be completed in
approximately five weeks.

3. In Court, the magistrates ask if atenant is a
“Section 8 tenant.” Is the eviction procedure
different for “Section 8” or subsidized tenants?

Yes. Tenants who participate in federal subsidy
programs, including the Section 8 programs, are
afforded special protection under Federal law. As
a general rule, subsidized housing tenants are
entitled to written notice of their opportunity to
meet with the management, and an opportunity to
meet with the management. They also may be
entitled to an opportunity to correct their conduct
before the landlord may file an eviction action. The
specific requirement s vary with each of the
subsidized or “Section 8” programs. A landlord
interested in evicting a Section 8 tenant should first
know the type of Section 8 or subsidy involved.
Second, the landlord should read carefully the
lease and contract, which has been signed.

Finally, because both federal and state laws apply
to Section 8 evictions, the court recommends that
Section 8 landlords obtain legal advice from an

attorney before filing an eviction against a tenant in
a federal subsidy program.

4. My landlord has refused to make repairs to
my apartment. Can | withhold my rent?

No. In Ohio, a tenant whose landlord refuses or
fails to make repairs cannot withhold their rent.
However, the tenant may deliver to the landlord
written notice of the defective conditions or repairs
requested. Then, if the landlord does not make the
repairs in a reasonable amount of time, the tenant
may deposit his/her rent with the Clerk of Court.
This is called rent escrow.

5. Are move-outs delayed if tenants have
children?

As a general rule, move-outs may be scheduled as
early as seven days from the date of the court
hearing. The magistrate may, under extreme
circumstances, extend the move-out by a few
days. However, there is not automatic extension
because the tenant has children, an elderly parent,
etc.

6. In Court, the magistrate recommended that
the parties in my case try mediation. What is
mediation and would | agree to try it?

Mediation offers parties an opportunity to resolve
their dispute without the intervention by the Court.
In mediation, the parties sit down with a mediator,
who is a neutral third party, and try to reach an
agreement regarding their dispute. The mediator
will help the parties put the agreement in writing.
Many parties find that they can abide by an
agreement they help write.

Mediation is available to landlords and tenants
upon request. The Community Mediation Center
of Stark County can be reached at (330) 430-
9502. Itis not necessary to file a court case to
request mediation.




